May 28, 2024  
2021-2022 Undergraduate Catalog 
    
2021-2022 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Tuition and Fees



The tuition and fees information provided is not intended to be comprehensive and is subject to change pending action taken by the Texas Legislature or University of Houston Board of Regents. Changes become effective on the date of enactment. The following information should be used only as a guide for estimating tuition and fees charges.

Email as Official Communication

The university-assigned campus email address is the official communication vehicle for all student information and exchanges among academic administrative offices. The following notifications will be sent via email:

  • 1098T
  • Set Aside
  • Collection Notices

Students should check their UHCL email accounts regularly to receive information from Student Business Services, as well as other university offices. For information regarding UHCL email, or to log in go to http://webmail.uhcl.edu.

Students have the ability to forward their UHCL email account to a preferred email account. Students interested in this option should visit University Computing and Telecommunications’ website at www.uhcl.edu/uct.

Definitions and Regulations

Students are responsible for knowing the current financial regulations of the university. Current regulations are applicable to all students regardless of the date of enrollment. Interpretation or explanations contrary to the regulations of this catalog are not binding upon the university. The university reserves the right to modify any statement as required by unforeseen conditions or by legislative actions.

Fixed Tuition Plan

The Fixed Rate Tuition is a plan available only to an undergraduate student admitted to and enrolled in a degree granting course of study at the University of Houston-Clear Lake. The plan is available to resident and non-resident undergraduate students and will provide the student a fixed tuition rate during the term of their agreement with UHCL. The intent and goal of the plan is to provide tuition predictability. Consequently, there is no guarantee that a student will realize any tuition savings by participating in the plan.

Tuition

Students are assessed tuition according to residence classification and the number of semester credit hours for which they register, subject to the statutory provisions of House Bill No. 43, 62 Legislature:

  • Residents of Texas will be charged undergraduate tuition at the rate of $50 per semester credit hour for students.
  • Non-residents of Texas and foreign students will be charged undergraduate tuition at the rate of $459 per semester credit hour for students.

An alien who has been lawfully admitted for permanent residence in the United States shall be considered for residency based on the same regulations in effect for U.S. citizens. Aliens who are present in the United States on a temporary or student visa shall not be eligible for classification as residents.

Tuition Residence Regulations and Appeals

It is important for students to know whether they will be classified as residents of the state of Texas. Students who do not qualify as bona fide residents at the time they register must pay the non-resident tuition fee.

An official determination of the residence status of students is made in the Office of Admissions at the time the application for admission and support documents are received. If students expect a change in residence status prior to first registration, this change should be indicated on the application. If a change in residence status occurs after submitting the application, students must inform the Office of Admissions. Students have a continuing responsibility to register under and to maintain the correct residence classification.

If there is any question concerning eligibility for classification as a resident of Texas at the time of registration, or any time thereafter, it is the responsibility of students to consult with the Office of Admissions. All requests for reclassification should be submitted at least 30 days prior to the registration period in question, but no later than the census date. Requests or documents received after the census date of a given semester will be considered for the next semester.

Students who believe they have been misclassified may petition the Office of Admissions for reclassification. Students may be required to furnish evidence in support of an appeal.

General Residency Requirements

Summarized below are the general rules for meeting eligibility requirements in the state of Texas. Exceptions to these rules for military personnel, teachers of higher education and their dependents, scholarship recipients and other special programs are discussed in an online booklet titled “Rules and Regulations for Determining Residence Status” published annually by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. The information may be viewed online through www.collegeforalltexans.com in the Get All The Facts section.

Residence of a Minor or Dependent: An individual who is 18 years of age or under or is a dependent and whose family has not resided in Texas for the 12-month period immediately preceding the date of registration shall be classified as a non-resident student regardless of whether he/she has become the legal ward of residents of Texas or has been adopted by residents of Texas while he/she is attending an educational institution in Texas, or within a 12-month period before attendance, or under circumstances indicating that the guardianship or adoption was for the purpose of obtaining status as a resident student. The legal residence of minors or dependent children is usually that of the parent with whom the individual spends the principal amount of time. Upon divorce of parents, residency is based on the residence of the parent who has legal custody or has claimed the minor for federal income tax purposes both at the time of enrollment and for the tax year preceding enrollment.

Individuals over 18: An individual who is 18 years of age or older, who is a legal U.S. permanent resident, who has come from outside Texas and who is gainfully employed in Texas for a 12-month period immediately preceding registration in an educational institution shall be classified as a resident student as long as he/she continues to maintain a legal residence in Texas. If such 12-month residence, however, can be shown not to have been for the purpose of establishing legal residence in the state but to have been for some other purpose, the individual is not entitled to be classified as a resident. A student enrolling in an institution of higher education prior to having resided in the state for 12 months immediately preceding time of enrollment will be classified as non-resident for tuition purposes.

Fees

Graduate Fees

Student Service Fee

The Student Service Fee, as authorized by state law is required of all students. The income from this fee supports recreational activities, health and hospital services, artist and lecture series, cultural entertainment series, student publications, student government and other student services as authorized by state law.

Reinstatement Fee

The reinstatement fee is charged to students who are approved for reinstatement after being dropped/withdrawn from classes for non-payment of tuition and fees.

Credit Card Processing Fee

Texas Education Code Section 54.5011 authorizes institution to charge an amount reasonable and necessary to reimburse the University, for expenses incurred by the university in processing credit card transaction or a debit card that is processed as a credit card. The current credit card processing fee rate is 1.41% and will apply to payments that are related to student tuition and fees only.

Recreation and Wellness Facility Fee

This fee may be used only for the purpose of financing, constructing, operating, maintaining, improving, and equipping a recreation and wellness facility, and for the operating recreation and wellness programs at the University of Houston-Clear Lake.

SOAR Fee

New students who are admitted for the first time in college or who are admitted to the university with less than 30 semester credit hours will be required to attend an orientation session titled Student Orientation and Registration (SOAR). Each student will be required to pay $60 at the time they register for the orientation. Guests will be required to pay $20 per guest. This fee is effective beginning with the spring 2016 term.

Orientation Fee

This one-time fee funds costs for the new student orientation programs.

Tuition Designated Fee

The Tuition Designated Fee is required of all students, graduate or undergraduate, resident or nonresident, enrolling in higher education institutions. As authorized by state law House Bill 3015 in the 78th Legislature in 2003, the university governing boards have been authorized the flexibility to “charge any student an amount designated as tuition that the governing board considers necessary for the effective operation of the institution.”

Parking Fee

A parking fee of $87 for an annual permit, or $52 for each fall and each spring, and $37 for the summer semester, will be assessed to students who operate motor vehicles on the campus or on properties leased by the university. Proof of ownership (current license receipts or titles for the vehicles) may be required. Refer to the Parking and Traffic Regulations page at www.uhcl.edu/parking for additional information.

Any vehicle not having a valid UHCL permit will be ticketed unless special arrangements have been made with the Parking Management Office to park on campus without such permit.

Lost or stolen parking permits must be reported at https://uhclparking.t2hosted.com/cmn/index.aspx so that a replacement permit may be purchased. Lost or stolen permits may be purchased at a cost of $20 at https://uhclparking.t2hosted.com/cmn/index.aspx.

Academic Record Fee

The proceeds from the Academic Record Fee shall be used to cover the costs of maintaining online registration system components and cover the costs of university publications and reproduction of transcripts.

Extended Access and Support Fee

The University of Houston Board of Regents has authorized the UH System universities to charge a fee to support Distance Education and Off-Campus Instructional programs. The revenue from the Extended Access and Support Fee will support these programs including web-enhanced, web-based courses, and marketing. The charge will be $7 per credit hour, up to a maximum of $63 per semester for all students registering for classes.

Information Resource Fee

The Information Resource Fee will be used to provide operational and personnel support and resources for the Neumann Library and for the UHCL Pearland Campus Library. The libraries provide students with a learning environment that includes instructional services and research material in print, video, and electronic forms. Additionally, this fee will be used to provide students with access to computing facilities for activities and uses that are part of the regularly scheduled academic functions of the university, and which are related to instructional activities, lectures, homework projects and provisions of the learning environment.

Student Center Fee

A fee charged for the sole purpose of financing, constructing, operating, maintaining and improving a student center for UHCL. This fee will pay for expanded student organizational space, more informal space for students (i.e. lounges, study rooms, gathering spaces), multifunctional space, space for meditation, recreational/exercise facilities, maintenance and operation of the new building and renovations to existing spaces.

Designated Differential Tuition

The Designated Differential Tuition (DDT) is charged separately by the colleges in order to improve and enhance resources available to students.

The College of Business uses its DDT to hire full-time faculty to facilitate meeting the faculty sufficiency and qualifications standards for AACSB international business college accreditation.

The College of Human Sciences and Humanities uses its DDT to increase and improve resources available by hiring more full-time faculty and improving the instruction of adjunct faculty.

The College of Education uses its DDT to maintain and improve programs by hiring additional faculty and providing student financial support.

The College of Science and Engineering uses its DDT to hire more full-time faculty and teaching assistants and to buy and maintain state of the art equipment for use in labs and classrooms.

Incidental Fee

A fee may be charged to students or prospective students to cover the cost of providing materials or services which are not the subject of a charge under any other statutory authorization. Incidental fees may be course related or non-course related.

Co-Op Fee

A fee that may be assessed to support additional requirements associated with cooperative education.

Practicum Fee

A fee that may be assessed to support field work at off-campus locations.

Malpractice Fee

A fee that may be assessed to pay for insurance to support students at off-campus locations.

Tuition Recovery Fee

Undergraduate students, who were first-time freshmen between fall 1999 and summer 2006 that exceed more than 45 semester credit hours beyond their state approved degree plan and undergraduate students, who are first-time freshmen beginning fall 2006 or subsequent terms that exceed more than 30 semester credit hours beyond their state approved degree plan, are subject to a tuition recovery fee of $130 per credit hour to cover the student’s educational costs. For more information, refer to Excessive Hours.

Three-peat Fee for Undergraduate Hours

An additional tuition amount of $130 will be charged for each undergraduate credit hour for a course taken for the third time at UHCL ($390 per 3-hour course). This fee also applies to any international or non-resident student who pays Texas resident tuition rates.

International Education Fee

The International Education Fee of $4 is assessed to each student to provide scholarship support for those who participate in education abroad programs.

BUS Computer Support Fee

This fee supports labs for dedicated College of Business use.

Schedule of Charges and Special Fees

The following Schedule of Charges and Special Fees shall apply, where applicable, to all students at UHCL. These tuition and fee charges are assessed according to the number of semester credit hours for which students enroll and are payable at the time of registration. Students are not registered and are not entitled to university privileges until their tuition and fees have been paid in full. If payment is made by check or money order, such check or money order must be payable to the University of Houston-Clear Lake.

The charges quoted are those authorized at the time of publication of this catalog but are subject to change without notice as necessitated by university or legislative actions. Questions should be directed to Student Business Services.

Special Fees

Fee Amount In U.S. Dollars
Academic Record Fee 30
Certificate, Teacher 78
Certificate, Professional 78
Cooperative Education 75
Differential Designated Tuition (BUS) - Undergraduate 13
Differential Designated Tuition (HSH) - Undergraduate 5
Differential Designated Tuition (CSE) - Undergraduate 5
Extended Access Fee 7/hr - 63/max
Duplicate Fee Statement, each 3
Duplicate Diploma 25
Excessive Undergraduate Hours - 3 Peat ($390 per 3-hour course) 130/hr
Field trip, each, when required for any given course; variable amount sufficient to defray the cost of the trip. Variable
Former Student File Reactivation Application (not enrolled for at least one year) 45
Graduation Application (includes diploma but not cap/gown) 80
Information Resource Fee 29/hr - 348/max
International Education Fee 4
International Student Insurance (annual) 2892
International Student Application/Evaluation 75
International Student Records Processing (per semester) 65
Internship 30 - 72
Laboratory, per course Variable
Late Payment (per semester) 50/ per deadline- 100/max
Late Registration (per semester) 50
Matriculation (for withdrawal prior to first class day) 15
Transfer Student Orientation  50/1-time
New International Student Orientation (NISO)  50/1-time
SOAR  60 for student/20 per guest
Parking (annual) 87
Parking (per long term) 52
Parking (summer) 37
Recreation and Wellness Center Fee 110 per term
Reinstatement Fee 200
Special course fee, when required; an amount sufficient to defray the cost of materials and/or supplies required. May include malpractice insurance. Variable
Student Center Fee (per semester) 30
Student Service Fee 42/hr-252 max
Tuition Recovery 130
Undergraduate Studies Application 45
Examination Fees Variable

Additional Special Fees by College

For graduate course descriptions click here

  

  

  

  

Variable Tuition and Fee Schedule for Undergraduate Students

CR HR RES UG NR/F UG TUI DESUG TUI DES NR/F UG ST SVC INFO RES REC WELL EXT ACC INT EDU ST CENT ACDM RCRD R-UG TOTAL NR/F UG TOTAL
1 50 458 196 342 42 29 110 7 4 30 30 498 1,052
2 100 916 392 684 84 58 110 14 4 30 30 822 1,930
3 150 1,374 588 1,026 126 87 110 21 4 30 30 1,146 2,808
4 200 1,832 784 1,368 168 116 110 28 4 30 30 1,470 3,686
5 250 2,290 980 1,710 210 145 110 35 4 30 30 1,794 4,564
6 300 2,748 1,176 2,052 252 174 110 42 4 30 30 2,118 5,442
7 350 3,206 1,372 2,394 252 203 110 49 4 30 30 2,400 6,278
8 400 3,664 1,568 2,736 252 232 110 56 4 30 30 2,682 7,114
9 450 4,122 1,764 3,078 252 261 110 63 4 30 30 2,964 7,950
10 500 4,580 1,960 3,420 252 290 110 63 4 30 30 3,239 8,779
11 550 5,038 2,156 3,762 252 319 110 63 4 30 30 3,514 9,608
12 600 5,496 2,352 4,104 252 348 110 63 4 30 30 3,789 10,437
13 650 5,954 2,548 4,446 252 348 110 63 4 30 30 4,035 11,237
14 700 6,412 2,744 4,788 252 348 110 63 4 30 30 4,281 12,037
15 750 6,870 2,940 5,130 252 348 110 63 4 30 30 4,527 12,837
16 800 7,328 3,136 5,472 252 348 110 63 4 30 30 4,773 13,637
17 850 7,786 3,332 5,814 252 348 110 63 4 30 30 5,019 14,437
18 900 8,244 3,528 6,156 252 348 110 63 4 30 30 5,265 15,237
19 950 8,702 3,724 6,498 252 348 110 63 4 30 30 5,511 16,037
20 1,000 9,160 3,920 6,840 252 348 110 63 4 30 30 5,757 16,837
21 1,050 9,618 4,116 7,182 252 348 110 63 4 30 30 6,003 17,637
22 1,100 10,076 4,312 7,524 252 348 110 63 4 30 30 6,249 18,437
23 1,150 10,534 4,508 7,866 252 348 110 63 4 30 30 6,495 19,237
24 1,200 10,992 4,704 8,208 252 348 110 63 4 30 30 6,741 20,037
25 1,250 11,450 4,900 8,550 252 348 110 63 4 30 30 6,987 20,837
26 1,300 11,908 5,096 8,892 252 348 110 63 4 30 30 7,233 21,637
27 1,350 12,366 5,292 9,234 252 348 110 63 4 30 30 7,479 22,437
28 1,400 12,824 5,488 9,576 252 348 110 63 4 30 30 7,725 23,237
29 1,450 13,282 5,684 9,918 252 348 110 63 4 30 30 7,971 24,037
30 1,500 13,740 5,880 10,260 252 348 110 63 4 30 30 8,217 24,837

*The table above does not include housing, meal plans, books, student insurance, international student fee, special course fees, differential tuition or parking. The University may change tuition rates and other charges without notice when so directed by the Board of Regents or the State of Texas.

Fee Schedule Codes

Abbreviation Definition
CR HR Semester Credit Hour
RES UG Texas Residents
NR/F UG Non-residents
TUI DES UG Tuition Designated Residents
ST SVC Student Service
INFO RES Information Resource Fee
ACDM RCRD Academic Record Fee
TUI DES NR/F UG Tuition Designated Non-Residents
EXT ACC Extended Access Support
INT EDU International Education Fee
ST CENT Student Center
REC WELL Recreation and Wellness Center Fee

Payment Plans Available for payment of Tuition and Fees

Installment Plan

At the time of original registration, UHCL students may pay their tuition and fees in full, or they may elect a four-payment option (one quarter of tuition and fees at time of registration and the remaining balance split in three equal installments). There is a $20 non-refundable fee for the multiple payment plan. The installment plan is not available for summer semesters. Courses added after the original registration period will adjust into the installment plan and an additional amount may be due depending on the add/drop activity.

Subsequent dates of payments will be listed on the fee statement. Students are responsible for all installment payments being made on time. Additional payment notices are not mailed. A $10 late fee is charged for each late installment. Students who do not meet installment payment deadlines will have their records encumbered until all fees and penalties have been paid. At semester’s end, any students who have not fulfilled their financial obligation on the installment contract will have their records encumbered and no grades or transcripts will be issued. There will be a $50 default fee attached to the existing debt. In order for students to be eligible for enrollment in subsequent semesters and have the encumbrance removed from their records, all penalties and contract balances must be paid in full.

Short-Term Loan

At the time of original registration at UHCL students may pay their tuition and fees in full or they may elect a two-payment option (one quarter of tuition and fees due at the time of registration and the remaining amount due later in the term). There is a $20 non-refundable fee for the payment plan. Courses added after the original registration period will adjust into the payment plan and an additional amount may be due depending on add/drop activity.

Subsequent due date of remaining payment will be listed in the student’s E-Services account under the “charges due” tab. Additional payment notices are not mailed. The short-term loan bears a 5% interest per annum. Students who do not meet the final payment deadline will have their records encumbered until all fees and penalties have been paid. At semester’s end, any students who have not fulfilled their financial obligation on the short-term loan contract will have their records encumbered and no grades or transcripts will be issued. In order for students to be eligible for enrollment in subsequent semesters and have the encumbrance removed from their records, all penalties and contract balances must be paid in full.

Rebates or Exemptions from Tuition and Fees

The statutes of the state of Texas describe certain instances in which students may be exempted from tuition and/or fees. The various types of exemptions and the Tuition Rebate Program are described below. In the case of exemptions, students have the responsibility to initiate the action of applying for an exemption through the Office of Financial Aid and to provide evidence that all conditions required for the exemption have been met. Until such time as the exemption is established, students will be required to pay all tuition and fees. Students should apply to the Office of Financial Aid at least one month prior to registration for the term in which they plan to utilize the exemption provision, but in all cases such requests must be received no later than the census date of any semester to be effective for that semester. For more information contact the Office of Financial Aid. In the case of a rebate, the student must apply for the rebate at the time of graduation in the Office of Registrar. Once the rebate is verified by the Office of Registrar, the refund will be issued by Student Business Services.

Tuition Rebate for Undergraduates

Tuition rebates to a maximum of $1,000 are available for qualified students who have attempted no more than three hours in excess of the minimum number of semester credit hours required to complete the degree as defined by the catalog under which they graduated. Certain restrictions apply:

  • Students must have enrolled for the first time in an institution of higher education in the fall of 1997 semester or later.
  • Students must be requesting a rebate for work related to a first baccalaureate degree received from a Texas public university.
  • Students must have attempted all course work in Texas resident status.

For more information, see the Office of Registrar. Qualified students must apply for the rebate at the time they apply for graduation.

Texas Veterans (Hazlewood Act)

Legal residents of Texas may be exempted from tuition and certain required fees under the Hazlewood Act. Texas veterans must meet the eligibility criteria listed in the Financial Aid section of this catalog. UHCL Hazlewood applications should be submitted to the UHCL Office of Veterans Affairs 30 days prior to registration.

Children of Texas Veterans

Exemption from payment of tuition and certain fees extends to children of members of the armed forces who were killed in action or died while in service in World War II or in the Korean conflict or in any subsequent actions, and to orphans of members of the Texas National Guard and the Texas Air National Guard killed since Jan. 1, 1946 while on extended active duty.

Children of Disabled Public Employees

Children of certain eligible firefighters, peace officers, employees of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice and game wardens who have suffered injury resulting in death or disability sustained in the line of duty may, under certain conditions, be exempted from payment of tuition and certain fees.

Deaf or Blind Students

Deaf or blind persons who are Texas residents may, under certain conditions, be exempted from payment of tuition and certain fees.

Children of Prisoners of War or of Persons Missing in Action

Dependent children under 18 years of age, or persons under 25 years of age who receive the majority of their support from their parent(s) may be exempted from the payment of tuition and certain fees if they are the dependent children of any person who is a domiciliary of Texas on active duty in the armed forces of the United States, and who at the time of registration is classified by the Department of Defense as a prisoner of war or as missing in action.

Peace Officer Waiver

If you are employed as a full-time peace officer by the state of Texas or one of its political subdivisions, and you are enrolled in our B.S. in Criminal Justice and Criminology degree program, you may be eligible for a tuition and laboratory fee exemption. This exemption applies to selected course work. If you are a volunteer peace officer you do not qualify for the exemption.

Firefighter Waiver

If you are employed as a firefighter by a political subdivision of Texas, or are an active member of an organized volunteer fire department, and are enrolled in our B.S. in Public Service Leadership degree program, you may be eligible for a tuition and laboratory fee exemption. This exemption applies to selected course work.

Good Neighbor Waiver

Qualified native-born students from the other nations of the American hemisphere and from Latin American countries designated by the United States Department of State may be exempt from the payment of certain tuition and fees.

Child of Protective Services or Child of Foster Care or Other Residential Care

Exemption for payment of tuition and fees for students meeting the qualifications outlined in Texas Education Code 54.366 or 54.367.

Vocational Rehabilitation

The Texas Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services (DARS) offers assistance for tuition and required fees to students having certain physical or emotional disabilities, provided vocational objectives selected by the individuals with disabilities have been approved by appropriate representatives of DARS. Through this state agency, other rehabilitation services are available to assist persons with disabilities to become employable. Applications for assistance should be made to the nearest DARS office.

Refund Policies

Refunds on Withdrawals

A student is considered withdrawn if they are no longer enrolled in the current term. Students receiving financial aid are advised to contact the Office of Financial Aid prior to making changes in their enrollment status. Student services and privileges, including library services and use of computer labs, terminate when a student withdraws from the university. Class days are counted from the first official class day of a semester or session and include weekdays and Saturdays. Refunds will first be applied to outstanding obligations.

Students who pay tuition and fees for any term and who subsequently cancel their registration through the Office of Registrar prior to the first day of classes for that term as specified in the academic calendar are entitled to a full refund minus a $15 matriculation fee and the $30 Academic Record Fee and any other non-refundable fees.

Students who officially withdraw from the university after classes begin may be eligible for a partial refund of tuition and fees. The applicable refund is based upon the courses in which students are enrolled on the date of official withdrawal. Refunds are based on the amount billed and not what has been paid.

Once a student registers, he or she is responsible for the total fees assessed regardless of whether the installment or short-term loan option is used. Refund percentages are applied to total fees assessed and not the amount paid. This means if you withdraw after making your first payment of tuition and fees, but after the 100% withdrawal period, a credit balance will first be applied to any outstanding amount due.

Withdrawal from courses or from the university can be made through E-Services prior to the deadline stated in the academic calendar. Withdrawals in writing are effective on date of receipt. Letters can be faxed to the Office of Registrar at 281-283-2530. The university reserves the right to deduct from the refund any outstanding financial obligations to the university.

No refund will be made to students who leave the university without officially withdrawing. Refunds are made in accordance with this schedule:

Fall and Spring Semesters (Regular Session)

  • Prior to the first class day - 100%
  • On or before the fifth class day - 80%
  • 6th through 10th class day - 70%
  • 11th through 15th class day - 50%
  • 16th through 20th class day - 25%
  • 21st class day and thereafter - No Refund

All Semesters (Eight- and Nine-Week Sessions)

  • Prior to the first class day - 100%
  • On or before the third class day - 80%
  • Fourth through sixth class day - 50%
  • Seventh day and thereafter - No Refund

Summer Semester (Three-, Four-, and Five-Week Sessions)

  • Prior to the first class day - 100%
  • On the first class day - 80%
  • On the second class day - 50%
  • Third class day and thereafter - No Refund

Class days, including Saturdays, are counted from the first day that classes begin at the university as indicated in the academic calendar for that semester. Refunds are not made immediately upon official withdrawal. They will be processed after completion of all university registrations for that semester. Refunds will be processed through BankMobile or credit card used for payment.

Refunds on Dropped Courses

Dropped courses refunds only apply when one or more classes from a student’s schedule are removed but remain enrolled in at least one course. Students receiving financial aid are advised to contact the Office of Financial Aid prior to making changes in their enrollment status. Reducing semester hours to zero is considered a withdrawal and the Refund on Withdrawals Schedule will be followed. Please refer the Refund on Withdrawals section of the catalog.

Students who drop classes within the first 12 class days of a 15-week session; within the first four class days of an eight-week or nine-week session; or, within the first two class days of a three-week, four-week and five-week session and who remain enrolled in the university for that semester may be refunded the applicable tuition and fees for classes dropped. No refunds will be made for courses dropped after the 12th class day during a 15-week session, the fourth class day of an eight-week or nine-week session, or the second class day of a three-week, four-week and five-week session. Refunds will be processed through BankMobile or credit card used for payment. UHCL has partnered with BankMobile to provide disbursement services for financial aid and tuition refunds. The refunds quoted are those authorized at the time of publication of this catalog but are subject to change without notice as necessitated by the university or legislative action.

Payment Agreement

The state of Texas requires that any student unable to pay their tuition and fees in full by the due date established by the university must enter into a payment plan with the university. The payment agreement constitutes a contract between the student and the university wherein the student acknowledges financial obligation to the university in writing (electronic signature) through their self-service student account.

Student Financial Responsibility

Students must meet financial responsibilities to the university. Writing checks on accounts with insufficient funds and failure to meet all financial obligations are considered a lack of financial responsibility.

Students forfeit check writing and cashing privileges for the balance of the academic year if they write two bad checks (unless due to bank error) to the university for tuition and fees, to the university offices for payment of other university obligations or for check cashing purposes.

Students who have written a bad check to the university (unless due to bank error) will be assessed a $20 service charge. It is the responsibility of students to present evidence of bank error. Encumbrances and returned checks must be cleared by cash or cashier’s check. Returned checks will not be re-deposited.

The university will not accept two-party checks for payment or check cashing privileges.

Students must be in good financial standing with the university at all times. Failure to meet financial responsibilities to the university may subject students to withdrawal and disqualification for registration for a subsequent term. Transcripts will not be given to or on behalf of students until all financial responsibilities have been met. Failure to clear outstanding debts could result in the debt being placed with a collection agency, additional collection fees charged, and being reported to the Credit Bureau of Greater Houston.